Photo: Jiyang Chen

Mackenzie Melemed

Recipient of the 2022 Avery Fisher Career Grant, 28-year-old American pianist Mackenzie Melemed’s international career continues to flourish. In the press, Melemed is consistently lauded as a consummate solo artist, a remarkably sensitive chamber musician and first-class soloist with orchestra. At the age of three, Melemed’s grandfather bought him a keyboard at a yard sale, leading to his enrollment in a beginner piano course. Performances at local senior centers soon became a weekly occurrence, and by the time Melemed turned seven, he had given over 200 concerts for senior citizens and charitable organizations.

Afterwards Melemed, a Steinway Artist, was the winner of Juilliard’s 2019 Leo B. Ruiz Carnegie Hall Recital Prize and 2018 Arthur Rubinstein Prize, as well as the Jade Medal at the 2019 China International Music Competition and the first prize and chamber music prize at Finland’s 2017 Maj Lind International Piano Competition.

Praised by the New York Times as an “excellent young pianist” Melemed, a Steinway Artist, has performed in venues such as The White House (2004-2008), Carnegie Hall, Alice Tully Hall, Warsaw Philharmonic Hall, and the Helsinki Music Centre. He has performed with the Philadelphia Orchestra, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra and KBS Symphony. Melemed was a laureate of the 2021 American Pianists Awards and received a cash prize of $50,000 for the distinction.

Since 2020, Melemed has lived in Finland. His success following the 2017 Maj Lind Piano Competition, coupled with his fluency in Finnish from Columbia University language courses, launched his successful performance career with invitations to perform with several of Finland’s orchestras and at major music festivals.



Lili Boulanger (1893—1918):

D'un matin de printemps (One Spring Morning) for piano trio (1917–18)


Alezander von Zemlinsky (1871—1942):

Trio in D minor, Op. 3 for clarinet, cello and piano (1896)


Maurice Ravel (1875—1937):

Sonata No. 2 in G for violin and piano (1923–27)


Richard Strauss (1864—1949):

Piano Quartet in C minor, Op. 13 (1883–84)


Fritz Kreisler (1875—1962):

Tambourin Chinois, Op. 3 for violin and piano (before 1910)


Camille Saint-Saëns (1835—1921):

La cygne (Swan) for cello and piano (1887)