Photo: Iara Dias

Annariina Jokela

Finnish violist Annariina Jokela started her musical journey at the Music Institute of Lapland, studying with Igor Arias and Taru Lehto. She continued her studies at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki with Professor Lilli Maijala and Pirkko Simojoki. Later, she pursued her education at the University of Music and Performing Arts Munich with Professor Nils Mönkemeyer and the Music University of Lausanne with Professor Tatjana Masurenko. Jokela holds master’s degrees from both the University of Performing Arts Munich and the Sibelius Academy.

Upon completing her master’s degree with distinction, Annariina Jokela joined the faculty of the Sibelius Academy at the University of the Arts Helsinki in 2022 as a viola teacher, concurrently serving as the assistant to the visiting viola professor, Nils Mönkemeyer. Since 2023, Jokela has been contributing as the substituting Viola Lecturer at the Sibelius Academy. In addition, starting from 2023, she imparts her expertise to aspiring violists at Metropolia University of Applied Sciences.

As a soloist, Jokela has performed with orchestras such as Hamburger Camerata, Sibelius Academy Symphony Orchestra, Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra, Helsinki University Orchestra, and Lauttasaari Orchestra. As a sought-after chamber musician, Jokela is a familiar figure on various European festivals, including the Kuhmo Chamber Music Festival, Helsinki Festival, and Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Jokela is a recipient of a scholarship from Villa Musica Rheinland-Pfalz.

Jokela regularly visits orchestras like the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, and Munich Philharmonic Orchestra. Jokela has also served as a visiting solo violist with ensembles like Tapiola Sinfonietta, Turku Philharmonic Orchestra, Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra, and the Chamber Orchestra of Lapland. Her career has been supported by foundations, including the Wihuri Foundation, Kauko Sorjonen Foundation, Pro Musica Foundation, Finnish Cultural Foundation, Sibelius Academy Foundation, Martin Wegelius Foundation, and Arts Promotion Center Finland.



Johannes Brahms (1833—1897):

Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25 (1861)


W. A. Mozart (1756—1791):

Piano Quartet No. 2 in E flat, K. 493 (1786)


Arnold Schönberg (1874—1951):

Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night), Op. 4 for string sextet (1899)