Danel Quartet

Photo: Marco Borggreve

Danel Quartet

Marc Danel, violin
Gilles Millet, violin
Vlad Bogdanas, viola
Yovan Markovitch, cello

The Danel Quartet was founded in 1991 and are well-known for their interpretations of the quartets of Haydn, Beethoven, Schubert, Shostakovich and Weinberg. The Quartet are also at home with modern music and have collaborated with many contemporary composers. Teaching is also important to them, as they want to promote the legacy left them by the Amadeus and Borodin Quartets. Since 2005 the Danels have been quartet-in-residence at the University of Manchester, and since 2015 they have also been teaching at the Netherlands StringQuartet Academy in Amsterdam. They also tour the United States, Europe and Asia teaching. Future engagements include performances in Brussels, Amsterdam, Paris, London, Madrid, Vienna, Milan, Taipei, Tokyo and New York, though the ensemble also likes to play at less familiar, more intimate events. They regularly appear at many festivals in Europe and North America.

Artist's/Ensemble's own website