Kuhmon Kamarimusiikki sivun taustakuva
Thorsten Johanns

Thorsten Johanns

Thorsten Johanns is from Germany. He started playing the clarinet aged 8 and later chose the saxophone as his second instrument. He studied at the Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln as a pupil of Ralph Manno. Currently Johanns is Professor of Clarinet at the University of Music Franz Liszt Weimar, having held the same possession earlier at the Maastricht Academy of Music. When he was 25 Johanns was appointed principal clarinettist with the WDR Symphony Orchestra Cologne. He also makes regular appearances as soloist with various orchestras. Conductor Alan Gilbert has on many occasions invited him to play principal clarinet parts with the New York Philharmonic. Johanns has also frequently been a guest of the North German Radio Symphony Orchestra under Christoph von Dohnányi in Hamburg, and has been leader of the clarinet section with the Berlin Philharmonic, Munich Philharmonic, Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra and Ensemble Modern. In chamber music he has collaborated with such notable musicians as the oboist Heinz Holliger, the Auryn, Cremona, Minetti and Aris Quartets, and Ensemble Raro.

Artist's own website


6. Kuhmo Arts Centre 18.15

Heinrich Baermann (1784—1847):

Adagio from Clarinet Quintet No. 3 in E flat, Op. 23 (1821)


14. Tuupala Primary School 14.15

Aulis Sallinen (1935):

Clarinet Quartet, Op. 108 ‘The Sea of Peace’ (2017)


19. Kuhmo Church 11.00

Franz Schreker (1878—1934):

Der Wind for violin, clarinet, French horn, cello and piano (1909)


21. Kuhmo Arts Centre 18.15

Karlheinz Stockhausen (1928—2007):

Laub und Regen No. 40½ Schlussduet aus Herbstmusik for clarinet and viola (1974)


22. Kuhmo Arts Centre 21.15

Franz Schubert (1797—1828):

Der Hirt auf dem Felsen, D. 965 for soprano, clarinet and piano (1828)


32. Kuhmo Arts Centre 18.15

W. A. Mozart (1756—1791):

Serenade in E flat, K. 375 (1781; arr. for wind sextet by Fritz Spiegel)


38. Tuupala Primary School 16.00

Francis Poulenc (1899—1963):

Sonata, Op. 7 for two clarinets (1918)